Live to Bring Him Praise

Sometimes,  I wake up in the middle of the night and I find a song filling my mind.  Today as I walk around my home tidying up after my family, washing a load of laundry, and preparing to go run a few errands, again a song fills my mind.  I can’t help but hum or sing the chorus as I wander through the house….

“None But Jesus”  (Hillsong)

In the quiet, in the stillness
I know that you are God
In the secret of your presence
I know there I am restored
When you call I won’t refuse
Each new day, again I’ll choose
There is no one else for me
None but Jesus
Crucified to set me free
Now I live to bring Him praise
In the chaos, in confusion
I know you’re sovereign still
In the moment of my weakness
You give me grace to do your will
When you call I won’t delay
This my song through all my days
There is no one else for me
None but Jesus
Crucified to set me free
Now I live to bring Him praise
I am yours and you are mine…
All my delight is in you Lord
All of my hope
All of my strength
All my delight is in you Lord
Forevermore
But, as I sing the chorus, I am questioned by my own conscience.
 “Is that true?”
  Is there “None but Jesus”?
No one else for me?
All my delight is in you Lord?
Now I live to bring Him Praise?

I probably won’t come in contact with many people today. I don’t expect to make the news or be invaluable to anyone but my family. Will my mind stay on Christ and will He be my delight when someone crosses my path today or is rude to me?

In the mundane of this day I CAN still “live to bring Him praise”.

I can keep grumbling, and complaining in check. I can choose to be grateful for my busy young men and husband who track dirt through my house, ask for me to wash another load of missed clothes, and live to empty my fridge.

I can be grateful, that God has blessed me with them in my life.  A lot of work….yes, they are.  Sometimes make me cry…yes, they do.  Bring me joy….every day!

How will I react when I walk about in this world…?  What will spill out when someone bumps me in the store or cuts me off on the way?

I Cor. 10:31

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.
Colo. 3:12 -17
12  Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, 13 bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive. 14 And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony. 15 And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. 16 Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. 17 And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

That is how TODAY I can “Live to Bring Him Praise”.

WordPress

Here and Now

 

Leave a Reply

